International Piers Plowman Society HOME
   The Yearbook of Langland Studies (YLS)

Call for Papers

The editors of the Yearbook of Langland Studies invite submissions to a cluster on personification for volume 33 (2019). In keeping with the journal’s broad interpretation of the scope of Langland Studies, we invite notes and essays which approach the topic from any angle, and which investigate either Piers Plowman itself or texts that are in some way relevant to or contiguous with its tradition. Submissions are due to by June 1, 2018. Please contact the journal with any questions.

Editorial Information

The Yearbook of Langland Studies is the sole journal devoted to Piers Plowman and associated works. Since 1987, YLS has significantly shaped the expanding critical attention to the poem and its contexts. Each volume -- including essays, debate, reviews, and annual annotated bibliography -- offers access to the most significant and up-to-date scholarship on the poem and its literary, historical, codicological, and critical contexts. YLS welcomes articles and notes that deal with Piers Plowman and related poetry and prose in the traditions of didactic and allegorical alliterative writing, or with the historical, religious, intellectual, codicological, and critical contexts of these works. The ISSN is 0890-2917.

The editors are Alastair Bennett, Royal Holloway, University of London; Katharine Breen, Northwestern University; and Eric Weiskott, Boston College. Submissions, which should follow the style sheet, should be sent as attachments to Books for review should be sent to any of the editors.

Editorial Board

  • Stephen A. Barney, Emeritus, University of California, Irvine
  • John A. Burrow, Emeritus, University of Bristol
  • Andrew Cole, Princeton University
  • Andrew Galloway, Cornell University
  • Alexandra Gillespie, University of Toronto
  • Simon Horobin, Magdalen College, University of Oxford
  • Traugott Lawler, Yale University
  • Jill Mann, University of Notre Dame and Girton College, University of Cambridge
  • Linne R. Mooney, University of York
  • W. Mark Ormrod, University of York
  • Ad Putter, University of Bristol
  • Elizabeth Robertson, University of Glasgow
  • Wendy Scase, University of Birmingham
  • D. Vance Smith, Princeton University
  • Thorlac Turville-Petre, University of Nottingham
  • Nicholas Watson, Harvard University
  • Nicolette Zeeman, King’s College, University of Cambridge


Editorial Info

Table of Contents


Style Guide
Yearbook of Langland Studies
Annual Bibliographies
Web Links
Home Page